O’ Moore Medal Recipient Announced

The 2018 O' Moore Medal will be awarded to Richard Corbridge, former HSE Chief Information Officer at the Annual Health Informatics Society of Ireland Conference in Croke Park on November 7th.

Richard Corbridge was the first Chief Information Officer for the Health Service Executive (HSE)  (2014 to 2017). Some of his successes are the creation of Ireland’s first digital hospital in Cork as well as an infrastructure to enable the genomic sequencing of patients with suspected epilepsy. 

As chief information officer, his role was to implement the eHealth strategy and roll out the widespread use of electronic record-keeping in the Irish health service. 

Under his leadership, eHealth Ireland successfully deployed the Individual Health Identifier and moved 50 per cent of Ireland’s acute hospitals to an eReferral solution. 

Richard is currently Chief Digital & Information Officer at Leeds Teaching Hospital Trust (LTHT) one of the largest hospitals in the UK and one of the largest teaching hospitals in Europe.

The O’ Moore Medal was inaugurated by the Health Informatics Society of Ireland (HISI) in 2003 and presented by An Taoiseach Bertie Ahern to Professor Rory O' Moore for his contribution to the development of Healthcare Informatics in Ireland. 

Since then, the HISI has awarded the O' Moore Medal to individuals who have made a major contribution to Healthcare Informatics. Previous recipients include Bill Grimson, Chris Nolan, Kieran Hickey, Steve Lieber, Glyn Hayes, Jane Grimson and Georges De Moor. 

Mary Cleary Deputy Chief Executive of The Irish Computer Society (ICS) and HISI Committee member, is very pleased to announce that the O’ Moore Medal for 2018, will be awarded to Richard Corbridge in recognition of his significant contribution to the digital transformation of the Health Service Executive (HSE).

Share this article!